Contact B'nai B'rith

1120 20th Street NW, Suite 300N Washington, D.C. 20036


Nurit Canetti (Galey Zahal) and Dan Lavie (Yisrael Hayom)

Greer Fay Cashman (Jerusalem Post) to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

(Jerusalem, May 2, 2021)–The B’nai B’rith World Center-Jerusalem has announced the winners of its Award for Journalism Recognizing Excellence in Diaspora Reportage for 2021:

  • Nurit Canetti, anchorwoman, editor-in-chief and producer, Galey Zahal – IDF Army Public Radio (Broadcast media category)
  • Dan Lavie, Diaspora Affairs correspondent, Yisrael Hayom (Print media category)

Canetti broadcasted numerous programs and podcasts that raised fundamental issues pertaining to Diaspora communities and Israel-Diaspora relations in the course of 2020. Lavie published more than 20 articles that appeared in both Hebrew and English on challenges faced by Diaspora communities, including the COVID-19 crisis. This is the first time Yisrael Hayom has received the award and the second time for Galey Zahal.

In addition, Greer Fay Cashman, who has appeared in the Jerusalem Post for more than 45 years, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award. She is the author of the popular “Grapevine” column and the paper’s correspondent at the Office of the President of Israel.

Since its establishment in 1992, the B’nai B’rith World Center Award for Journalism has recognized excellence in reporting on contemporary Diaspora Jewish communities and on the state of Israel-Diaspora relations in Israeli print, broadcast and online media. The award is widely recognized as the most prestigious prize in the Israeli media industry for Diaspora reportage and was established to help strengthen the relationship between Israel and the Diaspora. The award highlights the important contributions the media can make toward strengthening the relationship between Israel and world Jewry by encouraging quality reporting on Diaspora communities and Israel-Diaspora relations.

The distinguished members of the award jury are: Ya’akov Ahimeir, past editor and anchor, Israel Public Broadcasting Corporation and Lifetime Achievement Award winner for 2016; Professor Yehudith Auerbach, School of Communication, Bar-Ilan University; Professor Sergio DellaPergola, The Institute of Contemporary Jewry, Hebrew University; Sallai Meridor, former Israeli ambassador to the United States and former chairman of the Zionist Executive and Jewish Agency for Israel; Professor Gabriela Shalev, Higher Academic Council, Ono Academic College and former Israeli ambassador to the United Nations; journalist Yair Sheleg; Asher Weill, publisher and editor of “Ariel,” The Israel Review of Arts and Letters (1981-2003).

The Awards are presented in memory of the late Wolf Matsdorf, editor of the World Center-Jerusalem’s journal “Leadership Briefing” and a journalist in Israel and Australia, and his wife Hilda, a pioneer in social work in both Australia and Israel, and in memory of Luis and Trudi Schydlowsky. The award is made possible through donations from the Matsdorf family and B’nai B’rith World Center-Jerusalem board member Daniel Schydlowsky.

For further information, please contact Alan Schneider, Director, B’nai B’rith World Center-Jerusalem: 02-6251743; 052-5536441.

B’nai B’rith International has advocated for global Jewry and championed the cause of human rights since 1843. B’nai B’rith is recognized as a vital voice in promoting Jewish unity and continuity, a staunch defender of the State of Israel, a tireless advocate on behalf of senior citizens and a leader in disaster relief. With a presence around the world, we are the Global Voice of the Jewish Community. Visit