Contact B'nai B'rith

1120 20th Street NW, Suite 300N Washington, D.C. 20036


Editor & Publisher Magazine highlighted several Jewish journalism awards given to B’nai B’rith International by the American Jewish Press Association.

Read in Editor & Publisher Magazine.

The Forward was the biggest winner in the 42nd annual Simon J. Rockower Awards for Excellence in Jewish Journalism.

The historic publication received 33 awards in the national competition, which is sometimes referred to as the “Jewish Pulitzers,” as they are the highest awards presented in the Jewish media industry.

This year’s awards, for work produced in 2022, were presented at the American Jewish Press Association’s annual convention, held July 9-12 in New Orleans, co-hosted by Crescent City Jewish News and Southern Jewish Life magazine. The awards ceremony was held at the National World War II Museum on July 11.

The Jewish Journal of Greater Los Angeles received 21 Rockowers. Among magazines, Moment and Jewish Currents each led the way with 15.

Member publications, freelancers and wire services competed in 37 categories, most of which were divided into three divisions for weekly and biweekly publications, magazines and monthly newspapers, and web-based outlets and wire services.

There was a record number of entries in this year’s competition, and the entries were judged by volunteers from mainstream news publications and television outlets.

First place winners in the Louis Rapoport Award for Excellence in Commentary were David Suissa of the Jewish Journal of Greater Los Angeles, Marshall Breger of Moment magazine, and Jonathan Tobin of JNS.

The award for excellence in editorial writing, where all outlets were in the same division, went to the Jewish Independent in Vancouver.

The first place awards for enterprise or investigative reporting went to Gabe Stutman of J. The Jewish News of Northern California for ongoing coverage of the antisemitic Goyim TV, Dina Gold of B’nai B’rith magazine for a story about ongoing restitution efforts for valuables plundered by the Nazis, and Arno Rosenfeld of The Forward for what it is really like to be Jewish on a campus regarded as a hotspot of antisemitism.

The General Excellence winners were the Atlanta Jewish Times for best website, B’nai B’rith magazine for best magazine, and J. The Jewish News of Northern California for best newspaper.

As part of the convention, Alan Smason, editor of Crescent City Jewish News, completed his three year term as AJPA president, and was succeeded by Ellen Futterman, editor in chief of the St. Louis Jewish Light.

A complete list of winners can be found at